Nanyang Technological University Print Page

Discover HASS (Issue 5 - Aug 2014)


Policy and Planning

HASS Visiting Committee 2015

VC logo_2014-08-18 (5).jpg
In the next few months, we will be focusing quite a bit on the preparation for the Visiting Committee (VC) assessment, which will happen in the week of 8 March 2015.

The NTU Academic Affairs Committee (AAC) had in February this year endorsed the list of 10 VC members:

  1. Toni Makkai (Professor), Dean, College of Arts and Social Sciences, Australian National University (Australia) [Chair of the Visiting Committee]
  2. Kimberly Wright Cassidy (Professor), President, Bryn Mawr College (USA)
  3. Rosa Daniel (Mrs), Chief Executive, National Heritage Board; and Deputy Secretary (Culture), Ministry of Culture, Community and Youth (Singapore)
  4. Ng Cher Pong (Mr), Chief Executive, Singapore Workforce Development Agency (Singapore)
  5. Ronald E. Rice (Professor), Arthur N. Rupe Chair in the Social Effects of Mass Communication in the Department of Communication, University of California, Santa Barbara (USA)
  6. Adèle Naudé Santos (Professor), Dean, School of Architecture and Planning, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (USA)
  7. Takashi Shiraishi (Professor), President, Institute of Developing Economies, Japan External Trade Organization; President, National Graduate Institute for Policy Studies, Japan (Japan)
  8. Robert C. Stacey (Professor), Dean, College of Arts and Sciences, University of Washington (USA)
  9. Janet Todd OBE (Professor), President, Lucy Cavendish College, University of Cambridge (United Kingdom)
  10. Christine Wong (Professor), Director of Chinese Studies and Professor of Chinese Public Finance, University of Oxford (UK); and Director of Centre for Contemporary Chinese Studies, Sidney Myer Asia Centre, University of Melbourne (Australia)

The VC exercise is a prelude to the university-level Quality Assurance Framework for Universities (QAFU) visit; that will take place in September 2015.

The role of the VC includes to:

  • assess the College’s undergraduate and graduate education programmes, in terms of their academic coverage, rigor and learning experience for students;
  • evaluate the College’s research performance and capability, including support and mentoring for faculty members;
  • review of the College’s governance and administration; and
  • advise the College on its future development.

As part of the VC preparation, College and Schools have started to work on our respective self-assessment reports.  I would like all colleagues to give some thoughts to the existing policies, programmes and processes, and approach your Chair or the Dean’s Office if you have any suggestions.



Established only in 2006, HASS’ strategic plan under NTU 2015 is to build capacity so as to be able to compete with the best in the world.  Today, HASS enrolls some of the brightest students in Singapore, attracts some of the best faculty from around the world, and is increasingly recognised by top universities overseas as a desirable partner.  A solid foundation has thus been laid, and the College is poised to move further ahead in the next phase of its development.

On research, situated at the heart of Asia, and with the acknowledged role of Singapore as a bridge between Asia and the West, the theme of “Global Asia” can fittingly serve as the overall strategic research focus of the College.  This could be further grouped into (a) Business Asia, (b) Culture Asia, and (c) Transformational Asia. 

On education, emphasis will be placed on driving coherent outreach and recruitment activities, curriculum reform, quality teaching and increased use of educational technologies, internationalisation, career placements for students, and alumni relations.

More information on NTU2020 will be shared as the plan takes shape in the next few months.


Nanyang Education Award 2014

The Nanyang Education Award was inaugurated in 2013, and 18 School Awards and 12 College Awards had been given out.  For the inaugural University awards in 2014, all 12 College Award winners would be automatically nominated while new Schools and Colleges could also nominate outstanding deserving candidates for the Award. 


Associate Professors Jung Younbo (left) and Patrick Williams (right)
won the inaugural Nanyang Education Award (College) in 2013

The University and College Award winners would be conferred Fellows of the Teaching Excellence Academy.  Winner of the highest class of award at the University level for each year would be bestowed with the title of Educator of the Year.

There would be a maximum of only 3 winners for the University Award to be differentiated by Gold, Silver or Bronze. 

The evaluation criteria of the University Awards include scholarly works, extent of technology enhanced learning, and international impact and scholarship of learning.