Research & Publications


Research Grants and Awards

External Grants

Horizon 2020-Marie Curie Actions

Announced in June 2011, Horizon 2020 defines a new strategy for international cooperation in research and innovation and aims to create a genuine single market for knowledge, research and innovation. Running from 2014 to 2020 with an €80 billion budget, the EU’s new programme for research and innovation is part of the drive to create new growth and jobs in Europe. The programme, using a single set of rules, combines all research and innovation funding currently provided through the Framework Programmes for Research and Technical Development, the Competitiveness and Innovation Framework Programme (CIP) and the European Institute of Innovation and Technology (EIT). Further details on the Horizon 2020 programme can be found here.

The Marie Curie Actions, directly supported by the Horizon 2020 research strategy, provides research grants to researchers regardless of their nationality or field of research. The EU has set aside EUR 6.16 billion to be spent by 2020 on researcher training and career development. The Actions has supported the training, mobility and skills development of more than 50 000 researchers since its launch in 1996. There are currently five actions under the Marie Curie Actions scheme.

Jean Monnet Programme

The Jean Monnet Programme is part of the EU’s Lifelong Learning Programme and is designed to increase knowledge and awareness about European integration by promoting teaching, research and debate (relevant subjects include the EU’s relations with other regions in the world and the dialogue between peoples and cultures). The programme has operated on a worldwide basis since 2001 and is now present in more than 70 countries throughout the world. It is aimed exclusively at legally recognised higher education (university-level) institutions around the world - more than 800 universities offer Jean Monnet courses as part of their curricula, bringing together a network of about 1,700 professors and an audience of 265,000 students every year.

The selection of Jean Monnet Projects works via an annual call for proposals managed by the EU’s Education, Audiovisual and Cultural Agency. Projects are selected on the basis of their academic merits and follow a process of rigorous and independent peer review, and they are run with the utmost respect for the principle of academic autonomy and freedom. Some examples of eligible projects include modules on European integration, research seminars and round tables, as well as academic chairs and teaching posts.

Visit the Jean Monnet Programme page for more information.

ERC Grants

European Research Council (ERC) funding schemes are open to top researchers of any nationality or age who wish to carry out their frontier research in the 28 EU Member States or associated countries. There are several types of grants available:

  1. ERC Starting Grants - to support the independent careers of outstanding researchers of any nationality who are at the stage of establishing their first research teams or programmes
  2. ERC Consolidator Grants - to support outstanding researchers (of any nationality) who are consolidating their independent research teams or programmes.
  3. ERC Advanced Grants - to support outstanding established research leaders (of any nationality) to pursue ground-breaking, high risk research.
  4. ERC Synergy Grants - to support small groups of outstanding researchers (of any nationality) collaborating on complex scientific research.

Applications for ERC grants should be submitted by individual  researchers (Principal Investigators or PIs) and must be supported by a host organisation that is, or will be, engaging the PI for the duration of the grant. For more information on the ERC Grants, click here.​

Past EUC Grants

The following researchers were awarded the EU Centre’s Research Grant in 2011:

  1. Dr Lim Yee Fen (Nanyang Business School, NTU) for her research on the Policy Assumptions behind EU Data Protection Directive in the Age of Social Networks (Outcome of her research will be fed to the consultation by IDA Singapore as a precursor to the introduction of legislation on data protection)
  2. Dr Treena Wu (FASS, NUS and HSSR Duke-NUS Graduate Medical School) for her research on “Older Women, Retirement and Income Adequacy: A Comparison between EU member states and Singapore”
  3. Dr Denisa Kera (FASS, NUS) for her research on “Participatory Policy Model for Emergent Technologies: Comparative Study of Alternative R&D Spaces (such as Hackerspaces, FABLABS) in Singapore and the EU”
  4. Dr Phua Kai Hong & Marie Lamy (Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy, NUS) on “Analysing Prospects for greater regional health cooperation and governance in ASEAN – Lessons from the EU”
  5. Dr Trias Aditya (Dept of Geodetic Engineering, Gadjah Mada University, Indonesia) on “Feasibility Study on the Adoption and Adaptation of EU SDI Geoportal towards an ASEAN SDI Geoportal in support of multilateral disaster risk reduction efforts”.

  • Pictures from the presentation of the Research Grants can be found below: